稿件书写指南
Bio-101的目标在于收录生命科学研究中经常使用的实验方案,并且保持一致的质量和风格。尽管许多实验室拥有自己的实验方法集,实验操作程序却经常因源而异,这就引入了实验的变量,并且使确定标准操作变得困难重重。Bio-101致力于通过确保实验方案包含足够的细节,并且能够基于使用者反馈进行发布后的修订,以弥补这一不足。

为了减少作者在手稿准备过程中的工作量,作者可以通过我们的提交系统提交任何格式的手稿。
通用指南
Bio-101鼓励作者以单个Word文件提交稿件的文本及图表内容。实验方案中包含的字数、图表和视频数量没有限制。图表应嵌在文本文件中。影像文件需要以单独的文件形式提交。文稿需要包括以下内容:实验方案标题、作者信息、摘要、关键词、材料与试剂、仪器设备、实验步骤、数据分析 (可选)、实验备注、配方、致谢和参考文献。推荐使用的字体为Arial,字号10磅。尽量避免使用缩写词,如需使用请在首次出现时标注全称。点击此处查看Bio-101标准格式范例。
实验方案格式
鼓励 (但不要求) 作者采用Bio-101标准格式。Bio-101编辑团队将帮助作者对稿件格式进行编辑审校,确保所有稿件均符合Bio-101的标准格式。
在Bio-101上发表的实验方案包含以下12个部分:
  1. 实验方案标题
    标题应体现实验方案目的,描述准确简洁,帮助读者通过标题即可判断该方案是否为其所感兴趣的实验方案。读者可能来自不同研究领域,因此在标题的选词上,要避免使用生僻的专业词汇。
  2. 作者信息
    请提供每位作者详细的隶属单位信息 (部门/学院、研究机构/大学、城市、国家)。
  3. 摘要 (实验原理/实验目的)
    简单概括实验的原理、目的、方法、结果或结论 (适用的下游实验)。
  4. 关键词
    请提供3-5个关键词,关键词可以帮助读者通过Google等搜素引擎简单方便地检索到该实验方案。
  5. 材料和试剂
    将该实验方案的读者想象为刚入门的新手。因此,这部分应当提供重复此实验方案所需的所有材料和试剂。并且,作者需要对关键产品说明生产商及其目录号。此外,强烈建议作者提供重要试剂的储藏温度和保质期。
  6. 仪器设备
    书写要求同“材料和试剂”,罗列的仪器需提供其生产商及相应的产品编号或型号。
  7. 实验步骤
    为提高试验方案的重复性,鼓励作者按时间顺序逐步列出实验方案的所有步骤。对于实验的关键步骤,作者应提供详细的有助于研究者成功重复该实验的经验技巧。书写实验步骤应使用主动语态 (例:"Stock solutions and reaction mixtures were prepared under anaerobic conditions, using an MBraun glove box." should be described as "Prepare stock solutions and reaction mixtures under anaerobic conditions, using an MBraun glove box.")。
    在此部分,作者应提供:
    1. 关键步骤相关的图片和影像以帮助读者理解并提高实验方案重现性。
    2. 代表性数据示例以阐明得到的结果,我们鼓励作者提供原始数据。原始数据应是通过科学软件或工具 (如Excel, ImageJ) 获得的图片。避免使用图像软件 (如Illustrator, Photoshop) 处理过的图片。
  8. 数据分析 (可选)
    在此部分,作者应当提供数据处理和分析的方法,包括采用的统计检验、数据纳入或排除标准以及生物学重复次数等详情。
  9. 实验注释
    除“实验步骤”中本身包含的特定注释外 (参见上文),亦鼓励作者提供与实验方案相关的一般注释,例如:
    1. 作者实验操作过程中,实验的可重复性和变异性的说明;
    2. 提高实验重复性的其他注释、技术诀窍及注意事项。
  10. 配方
    我们要求作者精确说明实验中使用的成分 (例如,缓冲液或培养基) 及实验条件,包括每种溶液的储存温度和保质期。注意,未完全遵循此部分中的小细节信息 (例如,试剂批号或用水类型) 常常会导致实验失败。如有任何材料须遵守材料转让协议,作者应在该章节备注说明。
  11. 致谢
    作者应致谢支持其工作的经费来源渠道。若实验方案摘自或改编自先前发表的文章,请在此致谢先前的研究工作。作者应当在此部分声明任何利益冲突或竞争性利益。
  12. 参考文献
    要求作者列出所有相关参考文献,但不要求作者必须按照Bio-101的格式编排参考文献,Bio-101编辑团队会完成此部分工作。Bio-101具体参考文献格式示例如下:
    程赛凤, 刘源, 陈香嵩, 赵毓. (2018). 免疫染色. Bio-101: e1010136. DOI: 10.21769/BioProtoc.1010136.
    Bindschedler, L. V., Dewdney, J., Blee, K. A., Stone, J. M., Asai, T., Plotnikov, J., Denoux, C., Hayes, T., Gerrish, C., Davies, D. R., Ausubel, F. M. and Bolwell, G. P. (2006). Peroxidase-dependent apoplastic oxidative burst in Arabidopsis required for pathogen resistance. Plant J 47(6): 851-863.
图、视频和表格
图:如果是文章原稿提交,Bio-101鼓励作者将图嵌入文本文件中 (PDF文件中包括的图除外)。实验方案接收后,Bio-101要求提供采用标准图像格式 (例如:TIFF、JPEG、PNG),最低分辨率为300 dpi的单个文件。一般情况下,图的宽度不应超过147毫米之间;图中所有文字字号为8-12号;单个面板标注格式:用“A,B,C…” (大写,粗体) 标注。整篇实验方案中,图中使用的字体应保持一致。
图像文件的处理不应导致原始图像误读。请参见 Rossner 和 Yamada (Journal of Cell Biology, 166:11) 中的“'What's in a picture? The temptation of image manipulation' (图片中应包含什么?图像处理的误区),了解不当的图像处理案例和有价值的操作指导。
视频:视频要清晰,普通的智能手机摄像头亦可录制足够清晰的视频。Bio-101要求采用标准视频格式 (例如,MOV,MPEG,AVI)。
表格:表格应按照在实验方案中出现的时间顺序编号,且应该放在文中首次引述之后。表格大小没有限制,Bio-101编辑团队会适当调整表格大小,以达到最佳的在线呈现效果。如果表格过大,则会建议作者将表格作为补充文件纳入。
图、视频和表格均应当有准确且相关的标题和图例。
命名法
要求使用标准的科学命名法。物种、基因、基因型和变种名使用斜体。应当查询相关物种的遗传数据库,以确保使用正确的名称。Bio-101鼓励作者使用物种的常用名常用名称 (在常用名称适用的情况下),首次使用时需在圆括号中提供拉丁文名称。作者应当确定其使用的命名法是否符合公认的业界标准。

Search
Protocol Preparation Guidelines for Authors
General Guidelines
Bio-101 encourages authors to submit manuscript text and figures as a single Microsoft Word file. We have no limits on word count and number of figures/videos. Figures and tables should be embedded while videos must be submitted as separate files. The manuscript should contain all the following elements: Protocol title, Author information, Abstract, Keywords, Background, Materials and Reagents, Equipment, Procedure, Data analysis, Notes, Recipes, Acknowledgments and References. The recommended font and font size is Arial 10 point. Abbreviations should only be used if necessary and defined upon first use. Click here to see an example of a standard Bio-101 format.
Protocol Format
Authors are encouraged (but not required) to follow the standard Bio-101 format for initial submissions. The Bio-101 editing team will do the required formatting for authors to ensure that all protocol submissions follow the standard Bio-101 format. Protocols published on Bio-101 consist of the following 12 elements:
  1. Protocol Title
    The title should indicate the goal of the protocol and provide enough details to help prospective researchers determine whether the protocol is of interest to them. Keep in mind that your protocol could be useful for researchers from a completely different field. Ensure that the wording of title can be understood by a broad range of scientists.
  2. Authors Information
    Please provide complete affiliation information (department, research institution, city, country) for each author.
  3. Abstract
    The abstract should provide a brief summary of the protocol, highlighting its goals and expected outcomes. It should also describe a context in which the assay/method can be employed.
  4. Keywords
    Please provide 3-5 keywords for your protocol, which will help readers to easily find it using Google or other search engines.
  5. Materials and Reagents
    Imagine that the reader of the protocol is a novice. This section should provide a detailed list of all materials and reagents required for the successful completion of the experiment. Please specify manufacturer catalog numbers for critical materials. We also recommend that authors provide storage temperature and shelf life for important reagents.
  6. Equipment
    The above instructions for materials and reagents also apply for equipment. List specific catalog/model numbers for equipment where appropriate.
  7. Procedure
    Authors are encouraged to list all steps of the procedure chronologically as it makes the protocol much easier to follow. At crucial steps, authors should make sure to include advice from personal experience, especially if it would increase the likelihood of successfully repeating the experiment. The experimental procedure should be described in present tense. The experimental procedure should be described in active tense (e.g., "Stock solutions and reaction mixtures were prepared under anaerobic conditions, using an MBraun glove box." should be described as "Prepare stock solutions and reaction mixtures under anaerobic conditions, using an MBraun glove box.").
    In this section, authors should provide:
    1. Images and videos for crucial and difficult steps to aid the researcher in successfully executing the protocol;
    2. Representative example(s) of data to illustrate the type of results obtained. We would like to encourage authors to submit original results obtained from scientific software and tools (e.g., Excel and ImageJ) and avoid performing misleading manipulations of the data (e.g., artificial enhancement of specific image features using graphic software like Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop).
  8. Data analysis
    In this section, authors should provide information about data processing and analysis, including any statistical tests applied, criteria for data inclusion or exclusion, and details of replicates, including independent experiments.
  9. Notes
    In additional to specific remarks included in the "Procedure" section itself, authors are encouraged to provide general notes that are relevant to the protocol, such as:
    1. Notes about reproducibility and variability in your experience;
    2. Additional notes, technical tips, and cautionary points that may improve the procedure.
  10. Recipes
    We request authors to be precise about the ingredients they use (e.g., buffers and media) and the storage conditions and shelf life of each solution. Note that minor details in this section (such as catalog number of a reagent, or the type of water used), when not precisely followed, often lead to the failure of an experiment. Authors should indicate whether any materials are subject to Material Transfer Agreements (MTAs).
  11. Acknowledgments
    Authors are expected to acknowledge funding sources that have supported their work. If the protocol was adapted or modified from previous work, please acknowledge the previous work here as well. Authors should use this section to declare any conflicts of interest or competing interests that may impact the design and implementation of their protocol.
  12. References
    Authors are encouraged to cite at least one of their own publications or preprints where the protocol described was used successfully in the past. In addition, authors are requested to include citations for all relevant literature. It is not necessary to format the reference list as this will be taken care of by the Bio-101 editing team. An example of the Bio-101 reference format is:
    Bindschedler, L. V., Dewdney, J., Blee, K. A., Stone, J. M., Asai, T., Plotnikov, J., Denoux, C., Hayes, T., Gerrish, C., Davies, D. R., Ausubel, F. M. and Bolwell, G. P. (2006). Peroxidase-dependent apoplastic oxidative burst in Arabidopsis required for pathogen resistance. Plant J 47(6): 851-863.
Figures, Videos and Tables
Figures: For initial submissions, Bio-101 encourages authors to embed figures in the text file (except for figures that are included in a composite PDF). Upon acceptance, Bio-101 requires submission of individual figure files in standard image formats (e.g., TIFF, JPEG, PNG) with a minimum resolution of 300 dpi. The widths of regular figures are required to be no wider than 147.4 mm. We request that in-figure text be 8-12 point. Figure panels should be labeled with bolded uppercase letters (e.g., "A, B, C"). Use the same typeface for all figures.
Image files should not be manipulated in any way that could result in misinterpreting the original image. Please refer to 'What's in a picture? The temptation of image manipulation' by Rossner and Yamada (Journal of Cell Biology, 166:11) for examples of inappropriate manipulation and valuable guidance on acceptable practices.
Videos: For video, a typical smartphone camera is adequate as long as the video is clear. Bio-101 requires that standard video formats be used (e.g., MOV, MPEG, AVI). Authors are strongly encouraged to include video recordings of procedures when possible as these can greatly improve the clarity of the protocol for students and other early-career scientists.
Tables: Tables should be numbered chronologically as they appear in the protocol, and should appear after the first time they are cited in the text. There are no limits on table size; the Bio-101 editing team will either adjust their size appropriately for optimal online presentation or advise the author to include them as a supplementary file if they are too large.
All figures, videos, and tables should be accompanied by an accurate and relevant title and legend.
Nomenclature
The use of standard scientific nomenclature is required. Species, genes, genotypes, and mutations should be italicized. Genetic databases for the species of interest should be consulted to ensure that the recommended names are used. Bio-101 encourages authors to refer to organisms by their common name (if a common name applies), and to provide the Latin name in parentheses at first use. Authors should ensure that the nomenclature they have used conforms to accepted community standards of the relevant discipline.